Tujereng
The Gambia
 
26 March 2019
 
 

My third stay and as ever, it has been a pleasure to be in The Gambia with such a comfortable and peaceful base. Lamin was in good form as a guide and found me many excellent photo opportunities and Babucarr drove us very well indeed.

I particularly enjoyed Modou’s Gambian dishes at lunchtime when I was around. My congratulations to Heather and Moses on creating Farakunku.


James

Warwick, UK

 
 
 

 
24 March 2019
 
 

As always, a delightful place for my mini-break. A big thank you to your able team. Lovely accommodation, good food and peaceful surroundings.


Kira

Brufut, Gambia

 
 
 

 
18 March 2019
 
 

Our second trip to Farakunku…the perfect place to enjoy The Gambia. Lovely and quiet with just the birds calling. Very friendly staff and warm welcome from Heather, Moses and their team. Everything very orderly, clean and tidy. We loved our trips. We enjoy feeling part of the local village rather than being separated.


Paul & Janet

Newbury, Berks, UK

 
 
 

 
12 March 2019
 
 

Our first trip to Gambia and, after this wonderful experience, it may not be our last. We are not avid birders but still enjoyed our day trips out with Babucarr, our careful driver. No complaints at all, everything and everyone were both friendly and welcoming. We will definitely be recommending Farakunku Lodges.


Elaine & David

Teignmouth, Devon UK

 
 
 

 
09 March 2019
 
 

Our first visit to Gambia on the recommendation of my son who stayed here 5 years ago. The rooms, food and staff were all well above our expectations and the catering for my gluten free diet superb. (I usually lose weight on birding trips but not this time!)

We were both struck with how friendly the staff and local people are and this added to our enjoyment.


Gordon and Steve

Nottingham, UK

 
 
 

 
09 March 2019
 
 

Like many others, this was our first trip to The Gambia. All we can do is echo what others have said. Superb in all aspects of food, accommodation and welcome. All dietary restrictions catered for and great birding with ‘Lie and Omar. Visited the market in Brikama with Omar and bought fabrics – getting Omar to negotiate the best price. We have stayed in numerous lodges around the world and none have been better than Farakunku.


Steve & Gaynor

Hessle, Hull, UK
 
 
 

 
04 March 2019
 
 

It is very difficult to find new adjectives to express our satisfaction, so please read all the previous comments!

However, having been in similar businesses ourselves in the UK (so without the logistics problems here) we know how hard Moses and Heather and all the staff work. They have truly created a ‘home’ to come back to after a hot, dusty and tiring day on the ‘hunt‘ for Gambia’s wonderful bird life! 249 birds – beat that!

PS We just did! On our last walk through Tujereng =250!

Do join Heather for an Art workshop day. We (amateurs) had a thoroughly relaxing but engrossing day in the studio and would highly recommend it!

Thank you Heather and Moses and all the helpful, smiling staff and our excellent bird and cultural guides – we have had a wonderful time and shall pass on the good reasons to come to the "Smiling face of Africa”!


Peter & Barbara

Brecon Wales

 
 
 

 
02 March 2019
 
 

My 5th or 6th trip to Gambia and Senegal…so I have stayed in a lot of different lodges and hotels. Farakunku is quite simply in a class of its own! Comfortable, relaxed, friendly, efficient, great food and a birding itinerary with a quality guide that meant my bird list was bigger than ever before, with much better sightings than are possible with a group.

Unlike the other lodges this is the one I will return to!


Jackie (with Pete see below)

Little Bytham, Linconshire
 
 
 

 
02 March 2019
 
 

My first time to Gambia and what a trip! Loved the Farakunku experience – an oasis in a quiet setting (call to prayers, goats, cockerels excepted!) and beautifully set out and maintained. First class food, friendly staff and excellent organisation for our guided birding. It really meant we could enjoy a holiday in a potentially challenging country and everything else worked like a well oiled machine (I know…I do a lot of engineering!) It proved that small is best.

We have enjoyed our "extra days” particularly our Batik experience with Dodo at the Art Village. Birding excellent, guides great! In a word…inspirational!


Pete

Lincs

 
 
 

 
02 March 2019
 
 
Glenn and I are so pleased that we visited your stand at the Birdfair and booked our
first holiday to The Gambia with you both. You have created a haven of tranquillity
and shown us the true side of Gambian life. The team that you have here are truly
"premier league” Their welcoming approach makes guests feel a part of the
Farakunku family.
The birding package was well organised and we enjoyed our adventure to Tendaba
with ‘Lie and Babucarr. We were grateful that ‘Lie offered to carry our telescope as
some of the days were quite hot and tiring!
At the end of the day we thoroughly enjoyed all our meals, relaxation and the
company of other guests at the lodge. Hopefully we’ll be back next year to see the
Egyptian Plover. Thank you everyone.
PS. Loved the studio/workshop
Jane & Glenn
N Hykeham, Lincoln, UK
Glenn and I are so pleased that we visited your stand at the Birdfair and booked our
first holiday to The Gambia with you both. You have created a haven of tranquillity
and shown us the true side of Gambian life. The team that you have here are truly
"premier league” Their welcoming approach makes guests feel a part of the
Farakunku family.
The birding package was well organised and we enjoyed our adventure to Tendaba
with ‘Lie and Babucarr. We were grateful that ‘Lie offered to carry our telescope as
some of the days were quite hot and tiring!
At the end of the day we thoroughly enjoyed all our meals, relaxation and the
company of other guests at the lodge. Hopefully we’ll be back next year to see the
Egyptian Plover. Thank you everyone.
PS. Loved the studio/workshop
Jane & Glenn
N Hykeham, Lincoln, UK
Glenn and I are so pleased that we visited your stand at the Birdfair and booked our
first ...

full
 
 
 

 
28 February 2019
 
 

This was our first visit to The Gambia and our first organised birding trip. Both exceeded all our expectations. This was a beautiful, comfortable and welcoming place to stay. The food was great and all my fussy eating needs well taken care of…thanks.

Our bird guide Dowda was excellent…how he spotted birds under bushes, in thickets and hidden among leaves I’ll never know, but he was great at guiding us to the spot where they were. He was very patient and understanding with his two novice enthusiasts.

Everything about the trip has been wonderful and we are already planning our next visit. Until next time…


Christine & Ian


Oxford UK

 
 
 

 
20 February 2019
 
 

Our 9th visit! Why do we keep coming back here? We have always found all the staff so very welcoming- in fact we feel as though we are part of one big happy family. The bird gardens are such that one never knows what is going to turn up next. On our walks around the area the local people recognise us and always give a friendly greeting. (David)

Why do we keep coming back? To visit friends who are like family. To relax in the most beautiful surroundings. To re-acquaint ourselves with all the birds and to be completely spoilt for a fortnight. Here’s to the next time. (Betty)


David & Betty


Huddersfield W Yorkshire UK

 
 
 

 
19 February 2019
 
 

This was our third visit to The Gambia, but our first to Farakunku Lodges.and we hope it will not be our last! The two weeks here were all you could wish for from a holiday… lovely lodge and gardens, super food, good birdwatching with an excellent guide, a chance to experience local life and enjoy lots of relaxation. We are reluctant to leave.

The lodge staff were all friendly, really helpful and cheerful and made our whole time here a wonderful experience. Our thanks to Heather and |Moses who were lovely hosts in so many ways. They organised all our bird trips, excursions elsewhere, art classes and amazing entertainment with African singers, dancers and drummers for Valentine’s day. Nothing was too much trouble. We really appreciated all they did.

Thank you to everyone.


Philip and Gill


Abbotsham, North Devon

 
 
 

 
16 February 2019
 
 

Our second time at Farakunku…I didn’t think things could get better than our first holiday, but they did! All the staff are polite and friendly and make you feel special for the two weeks. The food was excellent, as was the service. The music night we had with African dancers was brilliant and will always stay in our memories.

Nobody is made to feel left out…if you haven’t organised a trip, you would be asked if you just wanted to chillout in the gardens or go for a walk or do you need a lift anywhere…nothing is too much trouble.

The two gardens are great for relaxing and the birds that drop in to the water bowls are unbelievable. Many thanks for a brilliant holiday.


Dave & Lynda


Stockton-on Tees UK

 
 
 

 
16 February 2019
 
 

This has been our first visit to The Gambia and Farakunku. We have found Farakunku to be the ideal setting to see the ‘real’ Gambia and its people who are all so friendly. The staff are all so polite and helpful and nothing is too much trouble.

We found the birdwatching trips to be well organised and our personal guide Ebrima was very knowledgeable and helpful. The variety and number of birds seen was second to none (205+ species)

We happened to be here on Valentine’s Day (which was also Helen’s birthday) …. the evening meal and atmosphere were terrific. A singer and kora player and later a local dance and drum group were organised…all fantastic. By the end of the evening we were all dancing and playing basic instruments!

Thank you for a wonderful holiday experience.


Colin & Helen


Oxford.UK

 
 
 

 
04 February 2019
 
 

We feel very fortunate to have ‘found’ Farakunku Lodges, as it is a splendid place for a holiday in The Gambia. The lodges are very large and well designed. The food is excellent with a variety of dishes for the evening meal. Heather, Moses and their team looked after us so well and the organisation for our birding trips was first class. We appreciated being able to use the gardens and the small private reserve down the track. Thank you to all for such a memorable holiday.


Elaine & Mike


Bristol, UK

 
 
 

 
02 February 2019
 
 

You have excelled yourselves once again! This is our second visit and the lodges, restaurant and gardens are kept spotless all the time. Our bird guide Mass was excellent, with a good sense of humour and who found us some brilliant birds. A special "thank you” to Lassana and Modou for some delicious meals.

The biggest thank you to Heather and Moses for your hard work, careful planning and attention to the small details, making us so welcome once again. All the best ‘til next time.


Chris & Debbie


Preston, Lancs UK

 
 
 

 
01 February 2019
 
 

To you all…you have been wonderful! So helpful, accommodating and caring to ensure our requests were met. Your service has been fantastic and we have had a great first visit to The Gambia. The food has been lovely and it was nice to try some local dishes. The lodges are beautiful…modern and with great attention to detail. All the best!


Charlotte & Ryan


Birmingham UK

 
 
 

 
30 January 2019
 
 

Thank you for our wonderful stay here. The staff are so helpful and friendly and the grounds and rooms are beautiful. Meals lovely and guides and drivers excellent. You’ve thought of everything!


Al and John

Sheffield UK

 
 
 

 
26 January 2019
 
 

We booked in haste after a friend told us how wonderful Farakunku is. He was right… Farakunku is wonderful. This is especially true because of the hard work done by everyone to ensure we had a great time. Lamin proved to be an excellent bird guide, helping us to see about 220 species. We also enjoyed our long walks on our "rest” days…not forgetting our adventure to our own desert island!


Carl and Dawn

Leicestershire,UK

 
 
 

 
22 January 2019
 
 

Had a lovely stay here with a lovely welcome from staff and my guide. Saw loads more new birds to add to my list.


Gilbert

Barnstaple, Devon UK

 
 
 

 
18 January 2019
 
 

Our 6th visit! Lost for any new words to say but the fact that we have returned so many times says it all. Thank you once again for making us so welcome, feeding us so well, organising fab trips with fab guides and careful drivers, not to mention keeping the maturing Farakunku grounds as lovely as ever. A big thanks to your wonderful team. Nothing disappoints! Don’t change a thing! We will miss you at the next Birdfair but will be spreading the word…’til next time…


Chris and John

Newcastle upon Tyne UK

 
 
 

 
18 January 2019
 
 

Can’t compete with Chris and John !(see above).It’s only our 4th visit but the same thoughts apply equally. We’ve had a great time and are still adding new birds to our list, entirely due to our wonderful guides. They’re more than guides, they’re friends, as are all the staff at Farakunku. So long may it all continue.


Dave and Joyce

Coniston, Cumbria, UK

 
 
 

 
15 January 2019
 
 

We first met Heather and Moses at Birdfair and immediately felt the warmth that they extended. Now we are here and this has been continued not only by them, but all their staff and guides with whom we have come into contact. Indeed it seems to be true across all of Gambia. It is one of the nicest, friendliest countries we have visited. Here at Farakunku, the hospitality has been truly appreciated. A wonderful environment with great food and drink. The birding has been wonderful and we have added a great number of species to our already extensive list.

Without a shadow of doubt, this is a place that all birders- serious or otherwise- should place high on their list. We will certainly be back!


Sally and Tony

Symonds Yat, Herefordshire UK

 
 
 

 
12 January 2019
 
 

It’s so fabulous here at Farakunku. Birders who stay in the Kotu area are missing out on a fantastic experience here.


Dave Gosney

Sheffield UK

 
 
 

 
12 January 2019
 
 

Thank you for a second wonderful stay. We loved our 10 days with the friends we have made here. Everyone is so welcoming and Heather and Moses work so hard to facilitate our enjoyment.

We loved doing the Marbling art workshop with Heather in her studio, and the Batik session with Dodo at Tunbung Art village.(We would recommend not to attempt a 2metre cloth in the time, stick to a smaller piece as it’s very time consuming!)

There was always something to do for non-birders as well…we went to Brikama market with Moses and bought beautiful material for about £2 a yard. We made a few visits to the local beach (beware strong currents and large waves-we stayed very shallow for one of our 3 visits)

My birding partner (Dave Gosney…see below) is always so impressed with the variety of species locally and on many different birding days…always of course with really good guides and drivers.

The food and gardens…always lovely and the staff were great


Pip and Liz

Sheffield UK

 
 
 

 
11 January 2019
 
 

Words are hard to find to express how much we have enjoyed not only our stay, but the kindness and friendship shown to us from the minute Moses met us at the airport to the minute we left.

We really felt like part of the family here at Farakunku. Everything was perfect :- the birding with Massaneh, the lodge, the food and the fun and friendship we shared with the other guests. Thank you ever so much for such a special experience. Good health and happiness to all of you.


Evelyn and Sharon

St Charles, Missouri, USA

 
 
 

 
05 January 2019
 
 

I think that this was our ninth stay at Farakunku Lodges, so you can tell that we like it!

The lodges are spacious, well designed, comfortable and immaculately clean. The food, as always, is fabulous, with some very interesting "fusion” dishes as well as Gambian and European specialities.

The gardens and the Tree and Bird Sanctuary are a haven for birds. Shikras come down to drink and up to four Violet Turacos visit regularly. Yellow-throated Leaflove, White-crowned Robin Chat, African Green Pigeon and a variety of Sunbirds can all be observed with a little patience.

All of the staff are friendly and good at their jobs. Heather and Moses now have the "dream team”!

Ian and Sue

Lincolnshire UK

 
 
 

 
05 January 2019
 
 

I think that this was our ninth stay at Farakunku Lodges, so you can tell that we like it!

The lodges are spacious, well designed, comfortable and immaculately clean. The food, as always, is fabulous, with some very interesting "fusion” dishes as well as Gambian and European specialities.


The gardens and the Tree and Bird Sanctuary are a haven for birds. Shikras come down to drink and up to four Violet Turacos visit regularly. Yellow-throated Leaflove, White-crowned Robin Chat, African Green Pigeon and a variety of Sunbirds can all be observed with a little patience.

All of the staff are friendly and good at their jobs. Heather and Moses now have the "dream team”!


Ian and Sue

Lincolnshire UK

 
 
 

 
10 December 2018
 
 

Came and spent a beautiful relaxing afternoon and evening. Immediately felt at home. We loved the lodges, gardens, your Tree and Bird sanctuary and our evening meal was delicious.


Although we are staying elsewhere on our first trip to The Gambia, it won’t be our last and hope it won’t be too long before we have the opportunity to come and stay at Farakunku next time. Thank you for your hospitality and we wish you a successful season.


Suzie and Ian

Norwich

 
 
 

 
10 December 2018
 
 

My first exploration of Gambia has been experienced in such comfort and style. You must be proud of your team: ‘The Farakunku Family’!


They have made me so welcome and I have had a very relaxing time. The food has been delicious and my lodge (Palm) immaculate and so comfortable after a day’s birding. The gardens are beautiful and a pleasure to explore…and then, late on, I discovered the Bird/Tree sanctuary – a little gem! The birding with Ebrima, Laye and Lamin has been so much fun…they were very good company, working hard to show me as many birds as possible. Next time I will immerse myself in some art!


Dawn

Southampton

 
 
 

 
08 December 2018
 
 

Just to say that I have had a fabulous week here at Farakunku! Travelling on my own, on a first trip to The Gambia, I wasn’t really sure how it would work out. However, I have been made incredibly welcome, met some lovely other guests (see preceding review pages) and the team here have all made me feel tremendously looked after.


Heather and Moses have made every effort to make my holiday a success and I have had some excellent bird photography opportunities thanks to Lamin and Laye who did a great job of spotting the birds and getting me to the best position for a picture.


I have had a really enjoyable time and hope to come back soon. The food was great…I enjoyed every meal… great cooks.

I will highly recommend the team and a visit to Farakunku to other friends. Thanks everyone!!!


Angus

Weston-Super-Mare, Somerset UK

 
 
 

 
05 December 2018
 
 

We have had another fabulous time here at Farakunku, Thank yous in abundance to Moses and Heather for their constant attention to ensuring our time here is spent however we wish. Nothing is too much trouble for them to arrange.


Lots of thank yous to the staff here who are so cheerful, polite and helpful. We loved the smiles & greetings as we arrived, but alas we are not keen on goodbyes Jen and I enjoyed a day in Heather’s studio creating marbled papers and attempting to draw. Probably not her best scholars but we certainly had fun and a sense of achievement by the end of the day. 


Ian had rather a large birthday this week and made a point of saying "no fuss necessary”. Of course, a fuss was made, in the shape of balloons, banners, cards, gifts, cake and not forgetting the entertainment! A wonderful evening of fun and friendship (almost forgot the magic). What a surprise to see Moses and the boys turn into the "Farakunku Band” Thank you!


Until next time (and there will be one) keep well, happy and take good care of each other.


Ian and June

Cumbria UK

 
 
 

 
05 December 2018
 
 

We came with Ian and June (who have been several times before) … so we had a little prior knowledge, but nothing could have prepared us for the experience. Absolutely nothing has disappointed…from our arrival in Banjul (at the same time as the President which created havoc on the journey from the airport to Farakunku!) until our leaving a week later…everything was totally tickety-boo.


Wonderful hosts, wonderful staff, wonderful accommodation, not to mention the lovely Gambian people…the list goes on…and I haven’t yet mentioned the birds! You don’t need to go anywhere…the birds come to you.


How do you impart an experience like this to those at home? Many thanks!


Jen and Tony

Cumbria UK

 
 
 

 
30 November 2018
 
 

My first ever visit to West Africa…a wonderful experience…the Gambian people are so friendly and kind.

Farakunku, under the management of Heather and Moses is an oasis of ordered and highly enjoyable comforts. Heather’s standards are high and her friendly and cheerful staff live up to those standards. Moses is a caring and helpful host.

Kaddy kept our rooms clean and tidy…crisp, white linen on a wonderful bed, nice soft towels- and all with her lovely smile.


The two cooks, Lassana and Modou, were a joy! I will miss them.

Alpha, Foday and Alex keep the wonderful gardens trimmed and watered, attracting an astounding number of birds of many species.

Babucarr drove us safely and surely through the chaotic traffic…a good man.


Our bird guide Dowda Bari was really on the ball with equally good personal skills and his expertise found us so many wonderful birds.

O.J. our "day off” driver was a delightful and knowledgeable man who told us much about The Gambia.

Love to all.

Cliff

Pembrokeshire, Wales

 
 
 

 
30 November 2018
 
 

A first visit to Africa has been a wonderful experience I am so glad to have had. Farakunku has been a very restful, peaceful place to stay. Such a lot of thought and careful consideration has been shown by Heather and Moses…lots of private spaces to sit and relax, reflect, rest, watch the birds, listen to the sounds, write diaries etc.


The staff are all so helpful and friendly and were willing to adapt to some odd dietary requirements! I appreciated the artistic weave into simple but important details like the different table layouts every evening, the beautiful flowers and petals on the tablecloths.


I really enjoyed the chance to spend time in the art studio, for a day with Heather, trying out new art techniques that have inspired me to expand my creative side (that has not had much room to grow over recent years). It was relaxing but fun and helped me to step outside my immediate comfort zone. Thank you.


Fran

Pembrokeshire, Wales

 
 
 

 
23 November 2018
 
 

We are just coming to the end of our delightful stay here at Farakunku…one that will remain a life-time memory.


We booked the 7-night Inclusive Birding package as part of our first 2 week visit to the Gambia.


Heather and Moses have made Farakunku a wonderful oasis of immaculate lodges, beautiful gardens and, with friendly & helpful staff, everything worked seamlessly with nothing too much trouble.


A big thank you to Mass (our immensely knowledgeable bird guide) who worked hard to ensure we enjoyed as much of the bird life as possible in our short stay.


We will be happy to recommend Farakunku to anyone travelling to The Gambia. Best wishes for the rest of the season …if only we could stay longer!


Ruth & Steve

Quidenham, Norfolk

 
 
 

 
29 March 2018
 
 

Our first visit to The Gambia has been made very special by Heather and Moses and their very friendly and helpful staff, with whom we shared many a joke.

The ‘Farakunku experience’ cannot be understated - 1st class service in every aspect: superb and innovative cuisine, very comfortable accommodation all set in beautiful bird-rich gardens.

In addition, our well planned birding excursions were superbly led by Mass (Massaneh Sanyang) a top birding guide. Never have we seen such skill in identification of birds and bird song. Without his expertise, we would not have seen so many birds. He is highly recommended.

We also enjoyed great company from the other guests during our 17 night stay: Bob and Betty, James, Pete and Celia.


Sue & Steve

Brecon, Powys, Wales

 
 
 

 
27 March 2018
 
 

What a stunning eco-lodge! The trees and flowers around the 4 lodges are beautiful and full of wonderful Gambian birds. On our terrace, in front of Palm lodge, the colourful Lavender Waxbills kept us company, not to mention the Firefinches, Senegal Coucal and lizards.

Heather and Moses have clearly spent lots of time and energy creating this wonderful sanctuary. Thank you to them both for being such wonderful hosts and thanks to the staff too for looking after us.

We’ve had a super first introduction to The Gambia, and meeting Sue and Steve from the Brecon area of Wales and talking birds over dinner has been great fun.

And I cannot believe I’ve not yet mentioned the amazing food … AWESOME! Really enjoyed it all.


Celia & Pete

Maidenhead, UK

 
 
 

 
21 March 2018
 
 

We feel very lucky to be able to enjoy the fruits of Heather and Moses’s hard and inspired work. Excellent accommodation, well served by an attentive staff. Birding par excellence with Ebrima and Abdulai. 5 stars all round.


Bob & Betty

Flintshire, N.Wales

 
 
 

 
21 March 2018
 
 

A lovely place. Safe, welcoming and comfortable. Good food and great birding. It’s been a pleasure.


James

Frome, Somerset, UK

 
 
 

 
11 March 2018
 
 

We’ve had a wonderful time here with heather and Mo in these beautiful surroundings. We’ve been very well looked after and have enjoyed some delicious food. Good to catch up again with you both. Great owners, great staff, great time! Xx


Liz & Howard

Newtown, Powys, Wales

 
 
 

 
05 March 2018
 
 

A big thank you to Heather and Moses and their wonderful staff. We have had a fantastic holiday, wonderful food and have been made to feel very welcome…everybody very friendly.

We have been very pleasedwith our bird guide and his trainee. Nothing is too much trouble and we would love to return.The lodges and gardens are delightful and Gambia is a lovely country.


Tina & John

Sandwich, Kent UK


 
 
 

 
05 March 2018
 
 

We would like to thank Heather and Moses and their entire staff for their great hospitality during our stay. To enjoy the great country of The Gambia with such a comfortable base is a fantastic experience. Never, ever have we gone to a holiday location for a 2nd time but this could maybe become the first time we do that.


Hans & Henny Germeraad

Netherlands

 
 
 

 
04 March 2018
 
 

How lucky are we to have found Farakunku Lodge and the Gambia.

Heather, Moses and all the staff made our stay special- even for a non-bird watcher wife. Pete did very well with 139 specimens in a week. Great accommodation, food and hospitality!! Thank you all.


Mary & Pete

Littlethorpe, Leicester,UK

 
 
 

 
02 March 2018
 
 

How lucky are we to have found Farakunku Lodge and the Gambia.

Heather, Moses and all the staff made our stay special- even for a non-bird watcher wife. Pete did very well with 139 specimens in a week. Great accommodation, food and hospitality!! Thank you all.


Mary & Pete

Littlethorpe, Leicester,UK

 
 
 

 
28 February 2018
 
 

This is now our 8th visit to Farakunku and we are already planning our 2019 visit ! The staff here are absolutely superb – with a friendly word every time we meet. Heather and Moses "bend over backwards” to ensure that everything is to our satisfaction.

Not only has the bird watching been of high quality each day, but Heather has once again proved that "You are never too old to learn”. A new addition to our skills this year was to learn how to marble paper in Heather’s new studio- thus enabling us to create our own greetings cards.

Another wonderful holiday. Everything perfect. Roll on our trip next year!


Bet and Dave

Shepley,Huddersfield, Yorkshire

 
 
 

 
26 February 2018
 
 

Our first visit to Farakunku…beautiful place, beautiful people and beautiful birds. Heather, Moses and staff looked after us so well, we felt very much at home. Many thanks for the superb vegetarian food too. Absolutely delicious.


Gill and Pete

Sampford Peverell, Tiverton, Devon

 
 
 

 
21 February 2018
 
 

Here I have had the best of everything. I came for the birds and have had an excellent guide throughout in Lamin k Njie. What I hadn’t necessarily expected was the bestof company, from heather, moses and the wonderful staff, to the other guests, with whom I have enjoyed many evenings of interesting conversation.


I hadn’t necessarily expected either the quality of all-round service, from planning days out toproviding wonderful food- but not just that; also the thought that is put into laying and decorating the tables each night and designing the menus.


Atmosphere is everything and hard to quantify, but at farakunku it is warm, safe and inclusive and what’s more, it begins as soon as you come through the gates. Not many places have ever had my 5* TripAdvisor rating, but farakunku certainly will be getting it !

I wish Heather and Moses every success in the future and would hate to think of this as my only visit.


David

Steeple Bumpstead, Essex

 
 
 

 
20 February 2018
 
 

Our first vist to Farakunku – and the Gambia. A very enjoyable stay in the very comfortable lodges. Great food and friendly staff. Special thanks to Ebrima our wonderful guide who showed us so many birding sites.

Hope to be back one day. Thank you all!


Chris and Denise

Iver, Buckinghamshire

 
 
 

 
16 February 2018
 
 

Our third, but hopefully not last visit! As usual, everything superb and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

We spent many peaceful hours in the bird garden – saw 32 different species just today, so to those people who say there’s nothing there…just be patient! Also had great views of the African Scops Owl in the host’s garden.

A big thank you to our bird guide Massaneh…as enthusiastic as ever…we would thoroughly recommend him.

Many thanks to everyone.


Bill and Claudine

Ramsbottom, Bury

 
 
 

 
09 February 2018
 
 

There’s not much we can add to our previous accolades. Thank you for a restful two weeks. Staff, food and lodges up to their usual, wonderful standard. Hope to see you again next year.


Bill and Val

Meare, Somerset

 
 
 

 
06 February 2018
 
 

Our first visit and we have really enjoyed ourselves. We have been out all day, every day bird watching and, thanks to our guides Lamin K and Yankouba, have seen many, many wonderful birds which has given us a lot of memorable experiences.

Farakunku has been a marvellous place to stay - peaceful, great food and, most of all, very friendly staff and hosts. The gardens with water bowls for birds are a real treat. Last but not least, a big thank you to Babucarr our driver. One week was not enough!


Mark and Diane

Woodbridge, Suffolk

 
 
 

 
03 February 2018
 
 

Our first visit. Wow. What a fantastic place. Not just the birds and the excellent guides but the ambience created by all the staff under Heather and Moses’s guidance. The artistic touchesto the rooms, beautiful table settings and the gardens are the icing on an already rich cake.


Nick and Monica

Canterbury, Kent

 
 
 

 
02 February 2018
 
 

My first visit on recommendation from friends…visiting on my own I have been well looked after by such friendly staff. Fantastic food and hospitality and well arranged birding tours with very knowledgeable guide (Ebrima). Definitely will return.


Andrew

Fairlight, East Sussex

 
 
 

 
29 January 2018
 
 

Our second visit and it felt as if we had never been away! A lovely relaxing time in the gardens and surrounding countryside, interspersed with 3 days guided birding. A perfect combination. Thanks to all the staff who do a brilliant job. The ponds near the beach make a worthwhile visit for a couple of hours exploring/birding. Hope to see you again!


Alan and Caroline

Loughborough, Leics, UK

 
 
 

 
25 January 2018
 
 

Another wonderful visit - my second. Thank you so much to all the team for making us so welcome and looking after us so well. Lovely food, great birding and beautiful gardens. Hope to be back one day.

Our first visit to Farakunku and hopefully not our last. Thankyou formaking our stay so special. You have a great team.

Another super visit. Great food, great company and a fabulous ambiance.

‘Saffy’

Alan and Jane

Colin and Jan

Various!

 
 
 

 
23 January 2018
 
 

Our third visit to Farakunku, and, as always, had a wonderful time. Everyone so friendly and helpful. Love the food and of course the accommodation and surroundings. Thank you to all the guys and girls…can’t wait to come again.


Barry and Liz

Southend, Essex

 
 
 

 
18 January 2018
 
 

The second visit to Farakunku has been every bit as good as the first. The staff, accommodation and food are all ‘five star’. Brilliant birding again with Ebrima, and Babucarr’s driving to many,many sites have all added up to make sure I will return. Heartfelt thanks and best wishes to all the Farakunku team!


Dave

Woodhouse Eaves, Leics, UK

 
 
 

 
18 January 2018
 
 

This was our second trip to The Gambia and Farakunku (unfortunately our trip last year was curtailed due to the political unrest last January) However, our 2 days here last year convinced us we had to return, and it certainly hasn’t disappointed.

Heather and Moses are wonderful hosts and Massaneh our bird guide was superb. My wife and I have travelled around the world and have stayed in some luxurious accommodation but we have never met staff and hosts who are friendlier or more welcoming than those here.

The accommodation might not be classed as 5* but you couldn’t ask for a more beautiful spot, with spacious, clean and well appointed rooms, fresh flowers in the rooms and on the dining tables each night…a lovely touch. We will come back as we feel everyone here are friends…and don’t even get me started on the birding!


Malcolm and Lesley

Houghton Regis, Bedfordshire, UK